Lookup with 'contains'/REGEX

I have a column which contains tonnes of Raw Material items such as

7 Ply 4X4 Carton
36" Polybag
39" Polybag
Cow leather

I had like to categorise these items using a lookup table (excel/csv) , where I have can write down which has a structure. PS : This table is more than 250+ items

Contains | Category
Carton | Packaging
Polybag | Packaging
Cow | Raw Material
Sheet | Raw Material

Expected Output

7 Ply 4X4 Carton | Packaging
36" Polybag | Packaging
39" Polybag | Packaging
Cow leather | Raw Material

Just an idea … but the IF transform can be a pain depending on the number of categories. I’m sure there are better Javascript solutions for this step (but I’m not a programmer).

lookup contains.transform (4.3 KB)

1 Like

Hello @olaf,

Thanks for the reply. I apologise I wasn’t clear in my post, the lookup table is more than 250+ items

found another solution without programming or complex IF. But it use CROSS which might generate big data.

lookup contains 2.transform (3.9 KB)

1 Like

This is a good solution for small dataset.

My RM list and categorisation list combo generated a 27.1 million row. I need to play with this a little to figure solutions clearly

1 Like

Olaf’s Cross solution should work for smaller datasets.

I tried using fuzzy Lookup, but that isn’t very reliable. (see attached)

Another possible approach is Cluster followed by Lookup. (see attached)

cluster and fuzzy lookup.transform (4.7 KB)

But sometimes you just need a honky great If! You could use Easy Data Transform to generate the data to paste into the If transform.

I have made a note to look into the possibility of a contains option for the Lookup transform.

Cluster is good but it still requires me to define tonnes of options manually.

YES that would be helpful !!

?? What does this mean ??

Sometime you just need an If transform with 250 terms.